Skip to content ↓


The Safeguarding Team and Contact Details

Tibshelf Community School makes every effort to ensure that pupils are provided with a safe and secure learning environment. This means ensuring that pupils are not put in any position where they are vulnerable to abuse or neglect. We enforce a school safeguarding policy for permanent and temporary staff members, volunteers and all school visitors.

It is our duty to ensure that our school pupils are provided with the highest protection whilst in our care and, as far as is possible, during their time outside school.  As part of our safeguarding policy we appoint a Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) and a Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead to oversee the child protection and safeguarding provision in our school.  The designated person(s) are members of the senior leadership team.

It is the duty of the school to ensure that the training and professional development of the DSL and deputy DSLs is ongoing, in order to enable them to deal effectively with changing child welfare concerns and the extra responsibilities that the job requires. This means being able to identify possible abuse, and knowing the right level of action to take, depending on the individual situation and circumstances.

The school will ensure that the DSLs attend relevant new or refresher training throughout their time in this role to make sure that they are up to date with all statutory policy and legislation and in the best position to deal with concerns, incidents and allegations, as well as feed back to the rest of the school staff, including school governors, on updated safeguarding provisions and policies, and any available support resources.

The Safeguarding Team contact details

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL):

Mr Richard Penford | Email: | Tel: 01773 872391

The nominated safeguarding/child protection governor:

Mr Stephen Doughty |

The Headteacher:

Mrs Lucie Wainwright | | Tel: 01773 872391

Key Safeguarding Team Personnel also trained to DSL level are:

  • Joy Riley | Safeguarding and Intervention Team Manager
  • Emma Dunn | Safeguarding and Welfare Manager
  • Hollie Stanhope | Safeguarding and Welfare Manager
  • Eunice Sinfield | Safeguarding and Family Support Manager
  • Jo Marshall | Safeguarding Medical Welfare Officer